top of page

Learning Philosophy


When I first began teaching almost 16 years ago, I would definitely say I entered the field with a very behavioristic point of view. It is how I had been taught as a child, it fits well into the world of music education, and it was all I knew. My view was that I would teach my students what I wanted to teach them, they would do what I would say, and everyone would be learning and happy. Well, I’m sure its not much of a surprise to you, that this did not work out well for me.

For years, I taught the same things in the same ways. My kids were somewhat happy, but definitely not reaching their full potential. They would do what I told them to do, for the most part and if you were a short term visitor to my classroom, it looked like kids were enjoying music and learning a little along the way.

But, I was growing more and more frustrated with my classroom. We weren’t progressing musically. My kids knew the information I taught on the surface, but year after year, I would have to reteach the same concepts…. Over and over and over again. We were never really able to move on to bigger and better things. Yes, with age and maturity we could do more difficult work, but the concepts and vocabulary were not sticking. I have often blamed behavior, lack of effort, the very short amount of time I get to see my kids, and the changing classroom learning environments. Yes, the changing classroom learning environments! The change in learning and teaching styles were “messing” up my classroom.

In reality, I was the one falling behind. The music classroom is a unique learning environment. When I would teach technology classes to fellow teachers, I would preach giving kids choice and giving learning the opportunity to explore problems and solutions in their own way, but why wasn’t I practicing what I preached in my own classroom? Honestly, because it was different. I was uncomfortable and it was about to be A LOT of work.

I am still in the process of changing my classroom environment, but I think my personal learning philosophy has officially taken a turn for the better. I think the music room functions best in a good mix of all the different learning theories that have existed throughout the years. It is behavioral when in a full group rehearsal. These are practice sessions or memory sessions. Learners are not given a lot of voice or choice in their learning at this point. These classes are pulling the collective together to create on final product created by 100 kids, but intended to sound like 1 one. Could you imagine a concert where every band member played whatever and however they wanted? This type of learning philosophy works in this setting, but we don’t have to be in this style of learning at all times.

Most of the year, my learners in my classroom to learn and experience music, not to just perform for their parents. Why can’t this classroom time be more inquiry or play based learning? Why not construct learning opportunities that build upon each other to reach our final learning goals? Why not give learners the choice about which composers or types of music they learn about and let them do the research and sharing with the class? All of these ideas could make way for many more authentic and meaningful learning experiences.

Since the beginning of time, children have not liked to study. They would much rather play, and if you have their interests at heart, you will let them learn while they play; they will find that what they have mastered is child's play. - Carl Orff

Carl Orff is one of the many music educators I have had the pleasure to study. His beliefs in teaching music through play and improvisation are part of what have changed my beliefs and learning philosophy. From the time we are born, we are learning through inquiry and play. Moms and dads don’t sit down and make a plan for what new word or skill we should learn each week. They give us the opportunity to learn through exposure the new situations and experiences. Just because a child reaches school age doesn’t mean that this style of learning ends.

Moving forward, I plan to intentionally add in a lot more opportunities to experience music through play. I have always said that the most important thing my students could leave my classroom with was a love for music. Yes, learning is important, but should a love and passion for the subject be every teacher’s ultimate goal? If kids can learn through play and experiences, they are going to take in so much more knowledge than I could ever “tell” them in a lecture or slide show. My learners will be actively involved as many aspects of my classroom as possible. They will be up moving, improvising and creating their own music to fit new concepts and skills, and working at their own pace whenever possible. I will begin to offer hands on music stations where my learners can play with and manipulate musical manipulatives, compose music that relates to them, research their favorite musician, or even code a robot to perform for the class. I know my learners will definitely leave my room happier. My hope is that through these authentic and constructive experiences, they also leave the room with a bit more knowledge and passion for the world of music.

Tell me, I forget, show me, I remember, involve me, I understand. Carl Orff

Resources:

Constructivist Theory (Jerome Bruner). (n.d.). Retrieved December 03, 2017, from http://www.instructionaldesign.org/theories/constructivist.html

Dwayne Harapnuik, D. (2016, March 11). Four keys to understanding learning theories. Retrieved December 03, 2017, from http://www.harapnuik.org/?p=634

Mims, C. (2003). Authentic Learning: A Practical Introduction & Guide for Implementation. Retrieved December 03, 2017, from https://projects.ncsu.edu/meridian/win2003/authentic_learning/

TED. (2010, May 24). Sir Ken Robinson: Bring on the learning revolution! [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r9LelXa3U_I&feature=youtu.be

bottom of page