top of page

COVA & CSLE: A Reflection

I went to grade school and even college in a time where students were expected to do whatever the teacher or professor wanted them to do. We believed what we were told, learned or memorized the fact for the test, and turned in "projects" that met the professors very specific criteria. That was just how things were done. Sometimes I flourished in those situations. Sometimes I struggled and never quite figured out why. Looking back after my time in the Digital Leading and Learning Program, I can see why. The courses that I flourished in were the courses that were important to my goals, my needs, or just my passions. I connected with the professor and often the work they had us do was work that I enjoyed. I was able to put myself into the assignments. The courses that I struggled the most with were the courses that never caught my interest. I didn't know WHY I needed to take them. I felt like I was wasting my time doing busy work for a test. I don't remember a thing I learned in those courses, in fact, I couldn't even tell you the professor's name.

I was terrified to begin my Masters degree after 16 years of teaching because I didn't want to feel the struggle of memorizing facts and taking impossible tests. But, my first few courses in the DLL program were different. I was frustrated at first because I was not being told exactly what I needed to do. I had a very basic, open-ended rubric, but not a specific list of what my assignments needed to look like. I wasn't doing the very thing that I was so terrified of. I wasn't memorizing facts and taking a test!

The learning environment in the Digital Learning and Leading program at Lamar had been designed to give each of us choice, ownership and voice in our learning. COVA, or Choice, Ownership, and Voice through Authentic Learning would soon take over both my work as a student and my own classroom.

Several assignments into the program, I finally began to open my mind up to making choices on my own, I was surprised by the work I began to produce. I'll never forget having to make a promotional video for my innovation plan. I had no idea where to even begin. I desperately wanted somebody to tell me EXACTLY what I needed to do. I remember feeling like I had no clue what I was supposed to be doing. I kept putting the assignment off, because I just knew that we would eventually be told exactly what was expected. My growth mindset had definitely not been developed and my fear of failing was taking over. I searched the websites of former Lamar DLL students hoping to find a definite answer. Everybody's was different. I finally gave in and just created what seemed right to me. The product ended up being something I would not hesitate to share with my learners, parents, or administrators.

Would I have created the same thing if I was given strict guidelines or even a template to follow? I don't think so. This assignment was the start of my mind opening up to new possibilities. I saw that if I just take a step back and truly reach within myself, I really can grow as a student and as an educator. I also stopped overthinking every assignment I was given. Instead of spending hours trying to figure out what I was supposed to do, I just jumped in and did it my way. The crazy thing is, I finished the work in half the time, put a lot less stress on myself, and ended up with better grades. COVA works when it is truly embraced.

It is still hard for me to embrace the growth mindset at times. Reversing 38 years of thinking is an ongoing process. Thankfully, my campus has a very big focus on the growth mindset. We even included growth mindset and the power of yet in our new school creed. I preach growth to my learners on a daily basis. We always say we don't quite have it yet, but maybe we'll get it tomorrow. I need make sure that I have the same mindset in everything that I do.

Moving forward, I hope to continue transforming my classroom into the significant learning environment I have envisioned throughout my coursework at Lamar. I want to make my Learning Philosophy come to life. This year, I have changed small sections of my lesson plans to create more of a play based, constructivist classroom. The difference in learning, attitudes, and behaviors is HUGE!

My 4th grade learners are just beginning their journey with a blended classroom. I have given them the tools to work independently or to collaborate with their peers. They have choice in what paths they take to complete their assignments and have ways to communicate their ideas with both myself and their peers. The entire year's recorder unit is available online and in paper form so that every kid, no matter their circumstances, can work at their own pace from home or in the classroom. I am keeping detailed records of their progress, so that I can adjust my plans in the future. None of us are used to the freedom this creates, so I'm interested to see where we are at the end of the year. I know there will be some massive failures as we progress through the unit, but if we never get started, we will also never reach the finish line.

COVA is sometimes difficult in the music classroom, but it can be done at appropriate times. Simple choices about lyrics to songs, instruments they play, or even creating their own music go a long way in building relationships and kids taking ownership in their learning. I hope to continue adding more and more elements of COVA to my classroom with each lesson we do.

bottom of page